Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

January 19, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday January 19, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Dave Fish, Belle Plaine, Nancy Jensen, County, Bruce Cross, Newhall, Amy Boddicker, County, Bruce Visser, Atkins, Jennifer Zahradnik, County, Alicia Presto, ECICOG, Jon Kaestner, County, Erika Hodgson, County and Loras Schulte, Norway.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Visser to approve the December 15, 2022 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Jensen, seconded by Seeman to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included upcoming trainings, litter fences, new cell discussion, tree removal, glass pile clean up, and insurance safety audit. Motion made by Fish, seconded by Boddicker to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report included summer reading program information, comp plan, training and compost bin rebate program. Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Cross to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Visser to approve Resolution 2023-01-01 Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Boddicker, seconded by Cross to approve Resolution 2023-01-02 Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Visser to approve Resolution 2023-01-03 Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Seeman to approve Resolution 2023-01-04 Approval of Comprehensive Plan. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Boddicker to approve the FY2022 Audit. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Visser to approve a RFP for auditing services. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Fish to approve a \$100 month compensation for work done in January 2023 and \$100 for each month after for website services. Ayes: Jensen, Seeman, Cross, Boddicker, Visser, Fish, Zahradnik, Kaestner and Hodgson. Nays: McNulty. Abstain: Schulte. Motion passed.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Seeman approve a change order request procedure to any change order under \$10,000 to be taken care of by the landfill manager and any change order over \$10,000 will be done during the regular meeting or by a special meeting. All Ayes.

Motion made by Visser, seconded by Fish to approve Resolution 2023-01-05 Phase III Cell H regarding public hearing and receipt of bids for construction. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Visser to go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code Section 25.1(7)(c). Ayes: Jensen, Seeman, Cross, Boddicker, Visser, Fish, Zahradnik, Kaestner, Hodgson, McNulty and Schulte. Nays: none.

7:25 pm

7:48 pm

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Visser to allow the Landfill Manager to negotiate based on the range discussed in closed session on the parcel discussed in closed session. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Visser, seconded by Seeman. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:50PM.

Chairperson